Tags

, , , , , ,

Zocalo Mexico City

Isn’t this a lovely photo? It’s a view of the Plaza de la Constitución also known as the Zócalo,the centrally located main square in Mexico City.

This photo was taken by me from my mobile phone and is sort of special to me because it’s the first photo that I clicked in Mexico, a day after landing in the country’s capital on August 15, 2007.

It was late evening when I landed in Mexico City or DF (pronounced “deh-efeh”, as Mexicans call it referring to its official name “Distrito Federal” which means Federal District) so I didn’t get to see much of the enormous metropolis except for the excellent road infrastructure and the fast-moving vehicles.

The next morning, I took a metro to the Zócalo. When I walked up and out through the crowded subway, I found myself in a corner of this vast, paved open square with a huge Mexican flag in the center. It was a beautiful sight!!!

You can read all about Mexico City and my amazing experiences there in my travel book, “Discovering MEXICO”.

I have arranged a few of my photos of Mexico City in the following two images. Hope you like them!

mexico city1

mexico city2

And now, before bidding you goodbye, here’s a lovely traditional Mexican song Cielito lindo for your listening pleasure! Enjoy 🙂

See you soon…hasta luego 🙂

