Tags

, , , , , ,

Time: 4:06 pm

Date: December 03, 2010

Place: The mighty River Brahmaputra in the state of Assam, India

I was aboard the ferry which had departed from Majuli Island, the world’s largest fresh water mid-river deltaic island formed by the mighty River Brahmaputra.

The ferry, the only source of transport connecting this culturally rich island with the mainland, was carrying more than 100 passengers, 3-4 cars, and over 50 motorbikes, all neatly stacked on the upper deck. The crowd on board was entirely local and mostly men.

I had perched myself on a wooden plank on the open-air upper deck to take in the beauty of the surroundings and the approaching sunset during the 45-minute ride.

I had already taken many lovely photos of the “blue” river during the ride but as the sun slowly started its descent I just couldn’t take my eyes off the sky. I was overwhelmed by the mystic glow of colors as the sunset bathed the water and sky in a soft light.

I couldn’t stop taking photos. I was relentless in my pursuit to capture a really good shot of the “golden moment of nature.”

If cruising through the beautiful Brahmaputra was a memorable experience for me, watching the sunset over the river was like “icing on the cake”!

To end this post, here’s a lovely remix song : Children of the Sun  Enjoy 🙂

See you all soon…keep visiting 🙂

